The Day The Music Died

When Upgrading Becomes a Downgrade

Well, sort of.

So usually around Christmas I make an attempt to try and finish off some music projects – some extra time on my hands over the Christmas holidays so I like to keep things moving, get something done and so on and so on.

I have a bunch of half complete tracks on my computer that I started a while ago, have been gradually adding bits and pieces to them, and up until Christmas I hadn’t touched them in a matter of months. I am dedicated to my art. Between the last time I touched one of the tracks and Christmas, I updated to Yosemite. Apparently Yosemite doesn’t like Logic 9 very much. Just lag in playback, and editing. Trying to master one of those tracks was a fucking joke.

Aha! I’m in 32 bit mode! I’ll turn it up to 64. Well, Logic uses a bridge application to get VSTs from 32 to 64 bits. Or something like that – I’m fairly fuzzy, but I understand the basic principle of how it works, and I haven’t looked at the information in a few weeks. So bridge application – it crashes. All the fucking time. It’s actually more stable and productive to use the 32 bit. So I switched back. Tried mastering again.

Three hours later I wanted to throw my computer out of the window.

So I stopped. So unfortunately I had nothing to offer to my glorious Soundcloud this year. Although I recently added a fairly old track, Soft Pigeon, that should have been up there last year. Because it was on Flax Visions. Still a really poor showing on my part.

However, I plan to, at some point this year, finally get a new computer. On that computer I will install Logic X and then hopefully I’ll be able to get back to making music. Naturally it will take a backseat to writing, but I fucking hate not being able to gracefully create stuff, and I like creating music/terrible noise. So hopefully I’ll be able to be able to get back on that some time this year.

One comment

  1. I feel your pain. I have so many little projects that I need to finish off. I have been so incredibly lazy with my guitar practice for the last few weeks. Come Monday I am getting back on it, at least an hour a day!!

Leave a Reply

